26.01.09 Esther Teichmann nominated for KLM Huf Award

Sign up to receive the Man&Eve newsletter

The newsletter is a low-volume email and lets you know of events and exhibitions at the gallery. You can unsubscribe at any time.

Esther Teichmann has been nominated for the 2009 KLM Huf Award organised by Foam_Fotografiemuseum Amsterdam.

A jury consisting of Willis Hartshorn, Clive Kellner, Mariko Takeuchi, Julien Frydman and Julliette Jongma will meet on 12 and 13 March to select the winner from a selection of about 100 nominated photographers. The prize consists of a cash sum of € 20,000, a three-week period as an artist-in-residence in Amsterdam and an exhibition at Foam in September 2009. The winner will be announced on 14 March 2009.

This year is the third time that Foam is organizing the Award. Since 2007 the KLM Paul Huf Award is specifically intended for a talented young photographer from anywhere in the world. This new scope was confirmed by the fact that in 2007 the jury even awarded two very talented photographers: Mikhael Subotzky (South Africa, 1981) and Taryn Simon (USA, 1975). Last years winner Pieter Hugo (South Africa, 1974) had an exhibition at Foam_Fotografiemuseum Amsterdam from 5 September till 2 November 2008.

In order to arrive at a representative selection, Foam approached ten nominators from different parts of the world. Each of these nominators – all of them experts in the field of photography – was asked to nominate ten young and talented photographers from the region where he or she is active. The winner of the Award, maximum age 35, could therefore be from any country around the world. The prize can be awarded to any form of photography: from documentary or applied photography to photojournalism or artistic work. The work of the winner must demonstrate a well-defined visual idiom, and it must be distinctive in its content as well as formal aspects. In all, 100 photographers were invited to submit a portfolio, from which the jury will select a winner.

The jury is composed of the following individuals:

Willis Hartshorn (USA) is since 1994 director of the International Center of Photography (ICP) in New York, USA.

Clive Kellner (South Africa) is the former director of the Johannesburg Art Gallery (JAG) in Johannesburg, South Africa and current curator-at-large of the Gordon Chachat Collection.

Mariko Takeuchi (Japan) is currently based in New York, USA, where she’s guest researcher of the National Museum of Modern Art. Last year she was the guest curator for the country focus on Japan at ParisPhoto 2008.

Julien Frydman (France) is the director of Magnum Photos Paris.

Juliette Jongma (the Netherlands) owner of gallery Julliete Jongma in Amsterdam.

For more information please contact Merel Kappelhoff (communications) e-mail merel@foam.nl or Jacob Garvelink (KLM Paul Huf Award) e-mail merel@foam.nljacob@foam.nl / phone +31 (0)20 5516500.
Foam is sponsored by BankGiro Loterij and VandenEnde Foundation.